The Dubuque Museum of Art’s permanent collection concentrates on 20th-century American art with an emphasis on American Regionalism. The Museum’s priority is to collect works by Regionalist artists and those connected to this area.

The permanent collection is composed of over 2,200 works, primarily paintings and works on paper. The collection includes significant works by noted Iowa Regionalist Grant Wood; the complete collection of Edward S. Curtis’ The North American Indian; and nationally recognized artists including John Steuart Curry, Adrian Dornbush, and Mauricio Lasansky. Local artists represented in the collection include Francesco Licciardi, Louise Halliburton, Joseph Walter, and Dorothy Bechtel Rossiter. The Museum is also home to the complete body of work from artist and author Arthur Geisert, currently consisting of more than 900 etchings.