DuMA Biennial 2019

Founded in 2003, the DUMA Biennial is recognized as a premier juried exhibition opportunity in the heart of the Midwest. The exhibition brings together works by emerging and established artists who are actively producing and presenting new work.

This year’s Biennial offers a fresh survey of 60 new works created by 39 regional contemporary artists. Works in a range of media, including painting, drawing, printmaking, photography, sculpture, and fabric, are on view along with multi-media installations.

A very special thank you to the 2019 DUMA Biennial juror Sarah Humphreville, senior curatorial assistant at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York. Ms. Humphreville has assembled a unified and compelling selection of works that represent current movements in the art of this region but also embody universal and timely themes that reach well beyond our geographic boundaries.

The 2019 DuMA Biennial artists:

Elisa Ahmer, Rockford, Illinois

Nelson Armour, Chicago, Illinois

Judy Bales, Fairfield, Iowa

Victoria Bein, Edgerton, Wisconsin

Pamela Callahan, Highland, Wisconsin

Amy Carani, Monroe, Wisconsin

Patrick Carr, Evanston, Illinois

Rachel Cox, Iowa City, Iowa

Rachel Deutmeyer, Dubuque, Iowa

Wendi Dibbern, Galena, Illinois

Maggie Douglas, West Des Moines, Iowa

Elizabeth Eagle, Dubuque, Iowa

Stephanie Failmezger, Peosta, Iowa

Julia Franklin, Des Moines, Iowa

Celine Hartwig, Iowa City, Iowa

Donté K. Hayes, Iowa City, Iowa

Ali Hval, Iowa City, Iowa

Peggy Johnston, Des Moines, Iowa

Mary Jones, Indianola, Iowa

Ioannis Karalias, Galena, Illinois

Michael Knapstein, Middleton, Wisconsin

Joseph Madrigal, Decorah, Iowa

Rachel Merrill, Des Moines, Iowa

Maureen Healy Mossman, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Tanner Mothershead, Iowa City, Iowa

Paul Nitsche, Ridgeway, Wisconsin

Daniel O’Brien, Platteville, Wisconsin

Lois Peterson, Dakota, Minnesota

Mary Porterfield, Chicago, Illinois

Kristin Quinn, Davenport, Iowa

Elizabeth Rhoads Read, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Vera Scekic, Racine, Wisconsin

Rowen Schussheim-Anderson, Davenport, Iowa

Martin Spei, Oregon, Illinois

John Swartwout, Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin

Jessica Teckemeyer, Dubuque, Iowa

Matthew Terry, Davenport, Iowa

Kathy Weaver, Chicago, Illinois

Mary Zeran, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

2019 Award winners:

1st: Rachel Merrill
2nd: Donté K. Hayes
3rd: Elizabeth Eagle

2019 DUMA Biennial Juror:

Sarah Humphreville