2015 DUMA Biennial

March 14, 2015 - June 14, 2015

2015 DUMA Biennial







2015 DUMA Biennial brochure

The fifth DUMA Biennial features the finest works of art by some of the most talented artists in a 200 mile radius of Dubuque. Generously sponsored by Premier Bank and Marella fine gift shop, this home-grown exhibition highlights the quality and variety of artwork that is currently being produced by the artists of this area. Special thanks to this year’s juror Mrs. Jane Milosh, Director of the Smithsonian Provenance Research Initiative, Office of the Under Secretary for History, Art, and Culture. Milosch is a past curator at the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s Renwick Gallery, the Detroit Institute of Arts, and the Cedar Rapids Museum of Art. The 2015 DUMA Biennial was the most competitive call for entries yet with 176 artists submitting 508 works of art. Of those, 48 artists and 59 works of art were selected by the juror for the exhibition.

The 2015 Biennial artists are:

Les Allen, Dixon, IL; Mat Barber Kennedy, Chicago, IL; John A. Beckelman, Cedar Rapids, IA; Bird Beth, Galena, IL; JoAnn Boehmer and April Katz, Ames, IA; Tiberiu Chelcea, Ames, IA; Patrick M. Doughman, Cedarburg, WI; Heidi N. Draley McFall, De Witt, IA; Sandra L. Dyas, Iowa City, IA; Velga A. Easker, Cedar Rapids, IA; Adam L. Eikamp, Dubuque, IA; Bruce Erdman, Greendale, WI; Paul Eshelman, Elizabeth, IL; Delores Fortuna, Galena, IL; Mary M. Griep, Northfield, MN; Nichole A. Gronvold Roller, Tremont, IL; David P. Herwaldt, Waverly, IA; Karlee Holets, Winona, MN; Bruce Howdle, Mineral Point, WI; Thomas C. Jackson, Cedar Rapids, IA; Louise Kames, Dubuque, IA; Andrea E. Keim, Cedar Rapids, IA; Lialia Kuchma, Chicago, IL; Joan M. Ladendorf, Hanover Park, IL; Aaron D. Laux, Madison, WI; Linda A. Lewis, W Des Moines, IA; Melissa A. Lovingood, Mason City, IA; Chris S. Maddox, Madison, WI; Fidencio Martinez Perez, Iowa City, IA; Jean Melick, Cedar Falls, IA; Diane D. Naylor, Fairfield, IA; Jack C. Nixon, Wilmette, IL; Tim D. Olson, Dubuque, IA; Radha Pandey, Iowa City, IA; Nancy L. Purington, Iowa City, IA; Randy Richmond, Muscatine, IA; Robert H. Rivoire, Galena, IL; Brian M. Roberts, Pella, IA; Jennifer L. Rogers, Cedar Rapids, IA; Steph J. Rue, Iowa City, IA; Steve Sinner and Joe Meirhaeghe, Bettendorf, IA; Vlasta V. Smola, Chicago, IL; Johnathan C. Stepp, Dubuque, IA; William J. Weber, Crystal Lake, IL; Marcia Wegman, Iowa City, IA; and Margaret Whiting, Waterloo, IA.


1st – Heidi Draley McFall for Grandma  mcfall
2nd – John Beckelman for Shards 3 beckelman
3rd – Adam Eikamp for Luca eikamp
Honorable Mention – Jennifer Rogers for Anxiety Cloud rogers
Purchase awards – Sandra Dyas for Sean Thomas Boyt, Near Iowa City, Iowa dyas;
Patrick Doughman for Wood and Hopper Debate Tooker doughman;
and Marcia Wegman for Route X40 wegman2